Vicky Van

- Carolyn Wells

209 Pages
Fleming Stone
bookCoverFor

Summary

Victoria Van Allen is something of a riddle for her neighbour, Chester Calhoun. Known as Vicky Van to her friends, she is somewhat avant-garde but respected nonetheless. When a millionaire is stabbed to death at one of her famed dinner parties, she flees the scene before the police can be contacted, unwittingly placing herself at the centre of their investigation. As it is discovered that the deceased had ties to Vicky’s past, and detective Fleming Stone is called in to bring her to justice, Chester grapples with his affection for Vicky and his moral obligation to the police. Inventive, taut, and rational, this novel is ideal for fans of writers like Arthur Conan Doyle.

Carolyn Wells ( 1862 -1942 ) was a prolific American writer and poet. She wrote a total of 170 books, alongside collections of poetry and newspaper articles. She focused on children's books and mysteries, with great success in both of these areas. Some of her most notable works include ‘The Nonsense Anthology (1902), ‘Vicky Van’ (1918), and her autobiography ‘The Rest of My Life’ (1937). Carolyn Well’s humorous verse and intricate plotlines are perfect for fans of Arthur Conan Doyle, Jill Paton Walsh and Laurie R. King.
Author(s):
Format:
E-book
Part:

9

Pages E-book:
209
Languages:
English
Published:
07/09/2021
Publisher E-Book:
Saga Egmont
ISBN E-book:
9788726894790

© Saga Egmont (Ebook)