The Staying Guest

- Carolyn Wells

136 Pages


‘The Staying Guest’ is a children’s book from author Carolyn Wells. Spinster sisters Priscilla and Dorinda Flint live together and are very content with their routines and way of life. Their lives are turned upside down however when they receive a letter one day, notifying them of their responsibility for their niece – born to their late sister Lavinia who had eloped to India. The sisters realise they are in for plenty of fun when young Ladybird appears on the doorstep, ready to warm their hearts and change their lives. A charming, humorous tale from the popular author.

Carolyn Wells (1862-1942) was a prolific American novelist and poet, best known for her children’s literature, mystery novels and humorous verse. Following school in New Jersey, Wells worked as a librarian where she developed her love of reading. It was during 1896, while working at the library that Wells' first book ‘At the Sign of the Sphinx’ was published. From 1900 she dedicated herself to her literary career, writing over 170 novels in total across a range of genres. Some of her most loved works include the ‘Patty Fairfield’ and ‘Marjorie Maynard’ series for girls, as well as the ‘Fleming Stone’ mystery series for adults. Wells is also well-known for her humorous nonsense verse, and was a frequent contributor of verse to magazines. She published an autobiography ‘The Rest of my Life’ in 1937. Wells died in New York City in 1942.
Pages E-book:
Publisher E-Book:
Saga Egmont
ISBN E-book:

© Saga Egmont (Ebook)