Patty Fairfield

- Carolyn Wells

150 Pages


Written and published at the turn of the century ‘Patty Fairfield’ is the first in the hugely popular series of Patty Fairfield books for girls, by prolific author Carolyn Wells. In this the first of the series, we are introduced to fourteen-year-old Patty, who lives alone with her father following her mother’s death. In order to learn how to best keep house for herself and her father, Patty is sent to stay with four different relatives to see how they live and to learn from them. A quaint and charming start to the series, which fans of Frances Hodgson Burnett and Susan Coolidge will enjoy.

Carolyn Wells (1862-1942) was a prolific American novelist and poet, best known for her children’s literature, mystery novels and humorous verse. Following school in New Jersey, Wells worked as a librarian, where she developed her love of reading. It was during 1896 that Wells' first book ‘At the Sign of the Sphinx’ was published. From 1900 she dedicated herself to her literary career, writing over 170 novels in total across a range of genres. Some of her most loved works include the ‘Patty Fairfield’ and ‘Marjorie Maynard’ series for girls, as well as the ‘Fleming Stone’ mystery series for adults. Wells is also well-known for her humorous nonsense verse, and was a frequent contributor of verse to magazines. She published an autobiography ‘The Rest of my Life’ in 1937. Wells died in New York City in 1942.
Pages E-book:
Publisher E-Book:
Saga Egmont
ISBN E-book:

© Saga Egmont (Ebook)