More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary
Share this book    

More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary is a collection of ghost stories by English author M. R. James.

M. R. James wrote many of his ghost stories to be read aloud in the long tradition of spooky Christmas Eve tales. His stories often use rural settings, with a quiet, scholarly protagonist getting caught up in the activities of supernatural forces. The details of horror are almost never explicit, the stories relying on a gentle, bucolic background to emphasise the awfulness of the otherworldly intrusions.

More Ghost Stories of an Antiquary is the second collection of ghost stories by M. R. James, published in 1911, and includes the following stories:

"A School Story"

"The Rose Garden"

"The Tractate Middoth"

"Casting the Runes"

"The Stalls of Barchester Cathedral"

"Martin's Close"

"Mr Humphreys and His Inheritance"

The first volume of Ghost Stories of an Antiquary was published in 1904.

Also available as audiobook, total running time: 5 hours, Reading by Peter Yearsley.

Montague Rhodes James (1862-1936), was an English medieval scholar. He is best remembered for his ghost stories, which are regarded as among the best in the genre. James redefined the ghost story for the new century by abandoning many of the formal Gothic clichés of his predecessors and using more realistic contemporary settings. However, James's protagonists and plots tend to reflect his own antiquarian interests. Accordingly, he is known as the originator of the "antiquarian ghost story".

Show more