The Luminous Face

- Carolyn Wells

bookCoverFor

Summary

Robert Gleason died of suicide. At least that's what he told his doctor when he called to inform him he had been shot. When his doctor arrived at his apartment though, it appeared that things were not so clear cut. He had received two shots, one which killed him instantly, and another, afterwards. How does a dead man make a phone call? The New York police are baffled by the suspicious alibis, the locked door, and the inconsistent clues. Detective Pennington Wise and his assistant Zizi are the last shot at justice. This impossible crime is unmissable for fans of locked room mystery novels, such as John Dickson Carr’s ‘The Hollow Man’.

Carolyn Wells ( 1862 -1942 ) was a prolific American writer and poet. She wrote a total of 170 books, alongside collections of poetry and newspaper articles. She focused on children's books and mysteries, with great success in both of these areas. Some of her most notable works include ‘The Nonsense Anthology (1902), ‘Vicky Van’ (1918), and her autobiography ‘The Rest of My Life’ (1937). Carolyn Well’s humorous verse and intricate plotlines are perfect for fans of Arthur Conan Doyle, Jill Paton Walsh and Laurie R. King.
Author(s):
Format:
E-book
Part:

5

Pages E-book:
205
Languages:
English
Published:
30/09/2021
Publisher E-Book:
Saga Egmont
ISBN E-book:
9788726894929

© Saga Egmont (Ebook)