The Daughter of the House

- Carolyn Wells

230 Pages
Fleming Stone


Published in 1925, ‘The Daughter of the House’ is the nineteenth book in the Fleming Stone mystery series by prolific American author Carolyn Wells. The owner of Langdene House is the glass-collector David Lang, who lives here with his hypochondriac wife Eleanor and daughter Mary. When all hell breaks loose on Mary’s wedding day, Detective Fleming Stone is called to help solve the mystery of three deaths. Full of intrigue, this is a classic crime thriller from author Carolyn Wells.

Carolyn Wells (1862-1942) was a prolific American novelist and poet from New Jersey, best known for her children’s literature, mystery novels and humorous verse. Following school, Wells worked as a librarian where she developed her love of reading, and her first book ‘At the Sign of the Sphinx’ was published in 1896. From 1900 Wells dedicated herself to her literary career, writing over 170 novels in total across a range of genres. Some of her most loved works include the ‘Patty Fairfield’ and ‘Marjorie Maynard’ series for girls, as well as the ‘Fleming Stone’ mystery series for adults. Wells is also well-known for her humorous nonsense verse, and was a frequent contributor of verse to magazines. She published an autobiography ‘The Rest of my Life’ in 1937. Wells died in New York City in 1942.
Pages E-book:
Publisher E-Book:
Saga Egmont
ISBN E-book:

© Saga Egmont (Ebook)