A Chain of Evidence

- Carolyn Wells

220 Pages
Fleming Stone


Master detective Fleming Stone returns in ‘A Chain of Evidence’, the third in the mystery novel series by prolific author Carolyn Wells. An attorney in New York City, Otis Landon overhears a commotion in a neighbouring apartment and discovers that his neighbour Robert Pembroke has been brutally murdered in the melee. A mean, miserly old man, Pembroke had no shortage of enemies, but only two people have keys to his apartment – one of whom Otis is falling in love with. With his judgement clouded, Otis calls on Fleming Stone to help crack the case. A thrilling instalment in the mystery series from the popular author.

Fleming Stone is a private investigator with a flair for reading books and people. New York police department often resorts to her skills when a crime turns out to be too complicated for them to resolve. Carolyn Wells’ "Fleming Stone" series follow the eponymous character’s adventures as she solves crimes and mysteries.

Carolyn Wells (1862-1942) was a prolific American novelist and poet, best known for her children’s literature, mystery novels and humorous verse. Born in New Jersey, following school Wells worked as a librarian where she developed her love of reading, and her first book ‘At the Sign of the Sphinx’ was published in 1896. From 1900 Wells dedicated herself to her literary career, writing over 170 novels in total across a range of genres. Some of her most loved works include the ‘Patty Fairfield’ and ‘Marjorie Maynard’ series for girls, as well as the ‘Fleming Stone’ mystery series for adults. Wells is also well-known for her humorous nonsense verse, and was a frequent contributor of verse to magazines. She published an autobiography ‘The Rest of my Life’ in 1937. Wells died in New York City in 1942.


Pages E-book:
Publisher E-Book:
Saga Egmont
ISBN E-book:

© Saga Egmont (Ebook)