The Canal Girl
  
For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, The Canal Girl is a heart-warming novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of Bicycles and Blackberries, Sheila Newberry.
Wales, 1883.
Young Ruth Owen, a talented musician with a scholarship to a prestigious music school, has a sparkling career ahead of her. But after a run-in with her mysterious tutor, Drago, she flees to London, leaving everything and everyone behind.
London, 1897.
Fourteen years later, Ruth Owen, now married with two children, finds herself struggling for money and a place to live. Left with no other option, she must return with her family to the place she once fled. But what troubles await her return? And can the past ever truly be forgotten?
'Reading a Sheila Newberry book is like having dinner with your mother in her warm and cosy kitchen. You can feel the love and care put into every juicy morsel' - Diane Allen, bestselling author of For the Sake of Her Family
'I have long been a fan of Sheila Newberry's novels. I love their wonderful warmth and charm.' Maureen Lee, bestselling author of The Seven Streets of Liverpool
Show more