Anybody But Anne

- Carolyn Wells

217 Pages
Fleming Stone


‘Anybody But Anne’ is the fifth in the ‘Fleming Stone’ series of detective novels by prolific author Carolyn Wells. Wealthy David Van Wyck has decided to become a philanthropist and leave his entire vast fortune to the local community. Whilst a noble intention, his family are opposed to the notion as it would leave them penniless. Following a meeting to certify his intentions, David is found dead in a locked room. His beautiful wife Anne is the obvious suspect, but there are many others who would have reason to want David out of the picture. A thrilling whodunnit from the popular author.

Carolyn Wells (1862-1942) was a prolific American novelist and poet, best known for her children’s literature, mystery novels and humorous verse. Following school in New Jersey, Wells worked as a librarian, where she developed her love of reading. It was during 1896 that Wells' first book ‘At the Sign of the Sphinx’ was published. From 1900 she dedicated herself to her literary career, writing over 170 novels in total across a range of genres. Some of her most loved works include the ‘Patty Fairfield’ and ‘Marjorie Maynard’ series for girls, as well as the ‘Fleming Stone’ mystery series for adults. Wells is also well-known for her humorous nonsense verse, and was a frequent contributor of verse to magazines. She published an autobiography ‘The Rest of my Life’ in 1937. Wells died in New York City in 1942.


Pages E-book:
Publisher E-Book:
Saga Egmont
ISBN E-book:

© Saga Egmont (Ebook)